Why we choose homebirth

Standard

I realize that this is a broad topic. A lot of you have asked why we chose to have our kids at home. I want to start this post by immediately saying I do not feel like this choice has made us better than anyone else, or that I am stronger than someone who chooses medical intervention or that I look down on other birthing options. That is an elitist attitude, and if you feel that way about your choices, whether they are the same or different from mine, please don’t continue to read this and definitely don’t comment. This note is purely about why me, myself and I (and, oh yes, Matt Murray) made the decision to give birth at home.

It started before Jack. Matt and I conceived and lost a baby in our first trimester. I had a terrible experience with our OB/GYN and never wanted to go back. When we found out we were expecting Jack I panicked a bit because I hadn’t found a new OB yet. I knew I needed a more personal relationship with a care provider and asked a woman at my church if she had any good recommendations. She told me about a midwife who birthed at home and who had delivered 2 other children at Renovatus… I honestly hadn’t considered home birth and the idea of it freaked me out a bit but I took the information anyway. Later than week I ran into my girlfriend, Lauren, and she told me that same midwife had delivered their son. It was too much of a coincidence not to at least meet this woman.

I started to research. I still at this point found the idea of having a c-section very attractive. I was terribly afraid of going through labor because of the pain and also I worried about recovery a lot. I had a friend that didn’t have sex for quite a while after their child was born and that freaked me out, too. I knew a lot of people who had c-sections and felt like it was just fine. I knew next to nothing about pregnancy or delivering at the beginning of my pregnancy and I was shocked to learn that there is SO MUCH to know about it. I was fascinated and thrilled to learn as much as I could. I’ve never had a great memory but it seemed like everything I learned about birth I committed to memory immediately, it was just too amazing to forget.

Through my research I started to realize that vaginal birth seemed to be far better for baby and mama health and recovery wise. The only problem is that there are a lot of rules that hospitals have about who can and can’t have a vaginal delivery and when they could have it. I realized that as far as hospitals go, I am not a good candidate. A lot of doctors still induce labor early because of macrosomia (fetal size of 8 lbs, 13 oz or larger) even though the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists advises against it. My family has a history of large babies and Matt wasn’t that tiny himself at birth. Also, most hospitals have a time limit of 42 weeks before they will induce labor (if they even let you go that far, which is unlikely). I have a family history of going closer to 43 weeks before labor starts on its own.

I wasn’t worried  yet, though, because that research didn’t suggest to me that I wouldn’t be able to deliver vaginally, just that I may have to be induced and start labor sooner than I would have naturally. And who doesn’t want to have your baby sooner than 43 weeks? It sounded fine to me until I found the statistics that made me realize I might not have that good of a chance of vaginal delivery in the hospital at all! Our C-section rate in the US is over 30% and when you are induced, your chances of having a C-Section DOUBLE! Now I was scared. That put me at a 40% chance of having my baby vaginally. (Naturally was already out, if you remember, because inducing is not done with natural methods at the hospital.)

I do not think it is wrong to have a c-section. I do not think it is wrong to be induced. I do not think it is wrong to have your child in a hospital. Doctors are not evil villains. But I did not want that for myself and my family! It didn’t work for us. I met with my midwife and really loved her. She isn’t an overly flowery hippy like I was expecting (and nervous about). She is sharp, filled with knowledge and wisdom, kind, and passionate. This woman could handle an emergency. She would tell me the truth. She isn’t an idealist who thinks that every single baby should be born at home, but a realist who knows that the majority of all babies can be. It was a perfect fit. It was because of my midwife and the encouragement of my dear friend and doula, Jordan, that we chose to giving birthing at home a try.

As we continued on our journey I learned so much more that made me more and more confident concerning our choice. Simple things like not using an epidural made it so that you could labor in other positions besides flat on your back with your legs in stir ups, which is a very difficult position to deliver any baby in. Knowing that mine were probably going to be big would make that even more difficult. The infant mother mortality rate is lower for homebirths, too. That was really reassuring! Knowing that there wasn’t going to be any unneccessary medical intervention really made me the most sure, though. I think that in the hospital if a Doctor had told me that something was necessary I would have wondered if it really was. That’s not a good frame of mind to be in while delivering.

I know that it is meant to be sweet when people say that I am special or strong for delivering these kids at home but I just don’t think that’s true. I think that when God designed birth, He designed it perfectly. I believe that hospitals are for sick people or folks with emergencies. I wouldn’t go to the hospital for a cold just in case in turned into pneumonia any more than I would go to the hospital for a birth just incase something went wrong. I know that C-Sections, and our countries ability to perform them well has saved many people’s lives. I believe that the advancement of medicine is necessary and  good. But I also believe that medical intervention should be used only when necessary or when a patient and doctor have agreed on it before hand. I wouldn’t want to go to the hospital wanting natural birth and end up with a c-section for non-emergency reasons. That is too sad for me to think about.

Birthing should make you realize just how beautifully women are made, not make you tremble with fear. I went into this adventure with concerns and questions, but without fear. It has made all the difference for me.

Resource

Resource

Resource

Resource

Resource

2 responses »

  1. My birth story was to have no medical interference and William was to be born at a birthing center. At 7 months, I wasn’t feeling right and scheduled an appointment with my midwife. She wasn’t in that day and I saw her assistant. She checked me over an insisted that all was well. At the last minute, she did an internal exam and found that I was 7cm and at stage 2 to deliver. Before I knew what was happening, I was on an ambulance to the hospital. I was given the OB/GYN on call and he was terrible. He would not explain anything to me and blamed me for not seeking medical care for the health of me and my baby. I spent the week in the hospital, my midwife called me a few times to see how I was but was not allowed to come and see me. (Pennsylvania law)
    I spent four weeks on bedrest and delivered William 12hours after my last Bretheine pill. (used to stop the pre-term labor and contractions) The medicine saved William and looking back, I was glad that I was able to get to a hospital and have the medical intervention needed to prolong my pregnancy another 5 weeks. However, the OB/GYN was a cruel Dr – actually told me that he had a bet going with the other Dr.’s in his practice to see how long I could labor without an epidural or pain meds. His cohort caused me excessive pain during each exam for fun.
    I chose to make the best of my situation and did not choose any medication during labor and delivery. (the sheer bliss of knowing my Dr was loosing his bet kept me focused!!) I sat in the shower for a long time and walked around. I refused an IV and asked for apple juice. It was bearable and managable until, right when I was just about to deliver William – at 10pm and the shift change was about to happen. The Dr. was too rushed and quickly performed an episiotomy with my son’s head right there. My mother started to pass out and the nurse who was suppossed to help me had to get her to a chair! I tore so bad that I spent more time being pieced together again than I spent in transition and delivery.
    So, I am an advocate for home and natural birth. But, we must have a backup plan that works. I did not have a contact at the hospital to use and midwives are not allowed to enter. States need to allow women to deliver their baby with the person they choose whether it is a traditional OB/GYN or midwife. Hospitals should be allowed to have and use alternatives on hand to provide better care for mother’s and their babies. And when all else fails, as it did in my case, you need to try to still stand your ground on certain things such as being allowed to walk around during labor, refusing meds, and keeping hydrated.
    And last but not least, more mother’s like you need to keeep sharing their stories in hopes of helping others to understand that it is possible to have a baby in peace, surrounded in a loving environment at home or in a low-key natural birthing center.
    Keep on sharing and I am so happy you were blessed with two great homebirth experiences and utterly adorable babies!

  2. Pingback: Charlotte Jane « Finding Beauty in the quiet

Leave a Reply

