Sex sells (and that makes me sad)

Standard

You don’t have to know me very well at all to know that I am an advocate for real beauty. I think women are innately gorgeous and that people place far too great a value on the size clothing they wear or the number they see on the scale. It’s a tricky position to hold for someone like myself, for example, who is in the midst of trying to lose weight after having 2 babies. It took me a while to realize that my body is not ruined, and that if I wanted to lose weight that is was fine, but that my reasons for losing it needed to be good. In my case, I’m 25 pounds past the weight that I would like to be but I don’t feel ruined by this. I just know I have some work to do. I do not feel pressured to look a certain way or wear a certain size, because I all ready know and believe that I am beautiful, and so are you.

Here’s the problem that I am now facing as someone who wants to advocate this beauty. Sometimes I see images like this:and I immediately agree. In fact, I briefly posted this same photo on Facebook earlier today after seeing it on another friend’s profile. The reason I removed it is that I realized once I clicked on the photo it took me to a Facebook page that celebrates “thick girls.” I have no problem with that but on this particular page they were posting pictures of girls barely dressed and people were commenting on how “sexy” those girls were. They were also posting pictures like that one above and then really going overboard describing the woman on the right in a negative light.

Um… hello? Really?! LADIES – YOU DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE YOUR CLOTHES OFF TO BE BEAUTIFUL – NO MATTER YOUR SIZE! And no one body type is better than the other. That’s my point! Everyone is beautiful. Curvy girls, you don’t hold the market on beauty any more than thin girls do. This is the same debate that women have over everything! Which is better – homebirth or hospital? breastfeeding or formula? stay-at-home moms or working moms? home-made or store-bought? And it makes me sick.

Women, we should be supporting each other and applauding our uniqueness. Men can only be blamed so much for the stereotypes of what is or isn’t beautiful at the moment. Please, I beg you, start first by valuing your own beauty and then go out and value someone elses.

2 responses »

  1. So….I am a youth pastor at this church, you may know of it…I have a lot of young ladies who could really benefit from a role model like you….just saying, something to pray about.

Leave a Reply

